Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Intermediate Hurling Championship 2015 - 1st Round

posted 14 Apr 2015, 13:54 by Sluder Bullins

Golden Kilfeacle 1-12 Ballinahinch 3-06

in Dundrum on Sunday 12th April.

The Intermediate hurling championship began last weekend with West meeting North in the tie of Golden Kilfeacle versus Ballinahinch. This tie was tight affair with the end resulting in a point each from a draw game.

Golden Kilfeacle got out of the scoring block quickly after the throw-in with ball delivered directly into the full forward line where John Colohan pointed for his side. The game flowed from end to end with both sides putting pressure on and tackling to stop the other side making progress through to the danger zone. The scoring started again with a goal by Ballinahinch’ s Brendan Ryan who got on the rebound after a high ball in form John Foley. Ballinahinch would only score twice more in the second half, points from Brendan Ryan and David Gleeson. Golden kept the scoreboard ticking having seven points on the board leading by two points at half time.

The two point lead kept Golden Kilfeacle in touch within the second half as Ballinahinch had a goal from John Foley and a Kevin Fitzpatrick point on the board within two minutes of the restart putting them ahead for the first time in the game. It did not take Golden Kilfeacle long to reply when John Colohan doubled on a ball dropped in finding the net securing the lead for Golden Kilfeacle again. Seanie O’Halloran increased this adding a point to his sides tally to put two between the sides. Ballinahinch responded well with a goal from David Gleeson and point from Kevin Mulcahy putting Ballinahinch up by 3 points. Golden Kilfeacle did not give up and tracked the gap back with points from Joshua Keane. The game was close in the end with Golden Kilfeacle having several opportunities to grasp the win however their shots were just wide of the target leaving the sides tied at the final whistle.

Golden Kilfeacle: Christopher Ryan, Paul Fogarty, Ronan Hayes, Keith Landy, Shane O’Connell, Daithe Bargary, Eoin Ryan, James McCarthy, Joshua Keane, James Casey, Aidan O’Connell, Stephen Ryan, Seanie O’Halloran, John Colohan, Sean Hayes.

Ballinahinch: Darragh McGrath, Michael Lynch, Donnacha McGrath, Michael Fitzgerald, Thomas Grace, Marcus Ryan, Paddy Kelly, Raphael Ryan, Kevin Mulcahy, Ger Grace, John Foley, Kevin Fitzpatrick, John Ryan, Brendan Ryan, David Gleeson. Subs: Ross Healy for John Ryan; John Skeehan for Brendan Ryan

Scorers: Golden Kilfeacle: Joshua Keane 0-07 (0-06 f); John Colohan 1-01; James Casey 0-02; Aidan O’Connell, Seanie O’Halloran 0-01 each.

Ballinahinch: Brendan Ryan, David Gleeson 1-01 each; John Foley 1-00; Kevin Mulcahy 0-02 Kevin Fitzpatrick, Ger Grace 0-01 each