Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Intermediate Hurling Championship - 3rd Round 2015

posted 10 May 2015, 11:54 by Sluder Bullins

Ballinahinch 2-20

Ballybacon/Grange 0-12

in Sean Treacy park, Tipperary town on Sunday10th May.

Ballinahinch defeated Ballybacon in their third game of the county championship, last Sunday in Sean Treacy Park. Ballinahinch need a win to keep their chances of making the knock-out stages alive. In wet and windy conditions, Ballinahinch began with the breeze at their backs, however Ballybacon were the first score with a long range free from Brendan Cummins. Both teams took their early chances, with early points for Ballinahinch from Raphael Ryan, Kevin Mulcahy and David Gleeson. Fifteen minutes through the first half Ballinahinch led by two points, with Ballybacon keeping in touch from frees.

 A quick move between the Ballinahinch full forward line put David Gleeson through and his shot was parried by Brendan Cummins with Ross Healy reacting quickest placing the ball in the bottom corner to extend the Ballinahinch lead. Ballinahinch then added further scores from Shane McGrath, David Gleeson and Kevin Mulcahy this pushed Ballinahinch into a commanding lead. Ross Healy was then again on the end of a Ballinahinch move deftly chipping the ball into the goals. At half time the scoreboard read 2-12 to 0-6 in Ballinahinch's favour.

The second half proved to be a tighter affair with Ballybacon working hard to try reduce the deficit. A good save from Daragh McGrath from a Brendan Cummins free the closest they came to reducing the gap. Ballinahinch kept the scoreboard ticking over with some good efforts from play and free and in the end ran out 2-20 to 0-12 winners.

Both teams still remain in contention in what is proving to be a very tight group. Ballinahinch play Moycarkey next while Ballybacon will play Golden.

Team: Darragh McGrath, James O'Connor, Donnacha McGrath (Capt), John Ryan (B); Paddy Kelly, Marcus Ryan, Thomas Grace; Shane McGrath (0-1), Ger Grace; Kevin Mulcahy (0-7, 4f), Rapheal Ryan (0-1), John Foley (0-1); Ross Healy (2-01), John Skehan (0-1), David Gleeson (0-8, 4f). Subs: Brendan Ryan for J. Skehan, Cathal Ryan for R. Ryan, M. Lynch for S. McGrath, James Healy for D. Gleeson, Mark Kelly for R. Healy. Cormac McGrath, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Shane Fitzgerald, John O'Grady, Sean Sheehy.