Match Reports‎ > ‎

2010 U21 'C' North U21 Final

posted 7 Jan 2011, 13:58 by Unknown user
Moneygall rally to U/21 ‘C’ success     

Moneygall came out with top prize in this highly competitive North Tipp Under 21 ‘C’ Hurling final played on Friday evening.

The victors withstood a strong start from the previously unbeaten

Ballinahinch but soon settled with their never say die attitude gifted them opportunities to see off the Ballinahinch challenge and capture the title.

Moneygall’s defence were put under early pressure

  but they stood firm to the challenge with Cathal Kennedy clearing down to Jonathon Sutton only for Ballinahinch’s Andrew Ryan to dispossess him before he got the chance to go through on goal. The first couple of opportunities fell to Ballinahinch but they could not find range. A goal chance for Ballinahinch was on the cards moments later when Brendan Ryan sent a sideline cut across the goal mouth Brendan O’Connor was quickest to react and cleared for Moneygall.  

   Moneygall’s Christopher Doughan got the scoring started with a close range free. Ballinahinch weren’t too long before attacking again with good team play between midfielder Edward Ryan and forwards Cathal Ryan and Ger Grace but Dwayne Collison in goal for Moneygall was on hand to see the shot away.

   Jarlath Sutton placed a crossfield ball for Keith Maher setting him up for Moneygall’s second point. Fifteen minutes in, Ballinahinch got on the scoreboard when a Moneygall clearance fell to Shane Healy and he set up Brendan Ryan for their first

  score. Minutes later Brendan Ryan levelled matters from a free.

   Getting into the game more and more, Ballinahinch attacked with Cathal Ryan and James Young with Brendan Ryan seeing the final shot go wide of the post. They did not have to wait long for another goal opportunity as Brendan Ryan sent Ger Grace through on goal, Dwayne Collison was out quickly but Ger Grace coolly placed the ball over his head and into the net.

   Ballinahinch further pulled ahead due to indiscipline allowing Brendan Ryan to point three frees.

  Moneygall worked hard over the remainder of the half and it paid off when they dropped in a long range free and Barry Tracey latched on to it, goaling for Moneygall. Christopher Doughan then pointed for his side leaving them only one point behind at the break.

   Moneygall levelled matters with their first opportunity of the second half a point from midfielder Keith Maher. Outfield work rate for Ballinahinch paid off as they got scores on the board through Frank Troy, Ger Grace and substitute

Cormac McGrath.

Ballinahinch had further opportunities midway through the second half but they could not find the range. Barry Tracey pointed for Moneygall leaving matters level again with ten minutes to go. Ballinahinch went a point ahead, James O’Connor setting up Brendan Ryan for another point.

   Moneygall knowing time was running out piled on the

  pressure but John Ryan at centre back for Ballinahinch kept them at bay. Moneygall substitute Brain Teehan had an immediate impact as he pointed with his first touch of the ball after good work from Jonathon Sutton and Alan Maher.

   Barry Tracey put Moneygall ahead when he cleverly intercepted a short puck out and pointed. Jarlath Sutton cleared the

  ball from his defence to Barry Tracey who pointed for the final score of the game leaving them two points the better at full time.

   Ballinahinch will now have to regroup to find the form of their winning ways if they are to contest in the county series. The character and determination that Moneygall showed in this game drove them to victory and winners of the north U21 C hurling title.

Team: Sean Berkery; James Healy, Colin Hogan; James O'Connor, John Ryan, Andrew Ryan; Edward Ryan, Shane Healy; Cathal Ryan, James Younge, Frank Troy(0-1); Brendan Ryan (0-7 5frees), Ger Grace (1-1). Subs: Cormac McGrath (0-1) for J.Younge, RJ Ryan, James Hickey.