Match Reports‎ > ‎

2010 County Minor 'C' Football Champions

posted 7 Jan 2011, 14:13 by Unknown user

Dream start helps Ballinahinch to victory

Ballinahinch 3-13
Clonakenny 2-08

by Marguerite Ryan in Borrisoleigh. 

F r e e - s c o r i n g Ballinahinch were impressive winners of the county Minor ‘C’ Football Championship final played on Tuesday night of last week.

Ballinahinch got off to a dream start scoring 1-1 inside the opening two minutes providing the platform for their success. David Ryan set up Brendan Ryan for his first goal and Paddy Kelly pointing a free.

Free-taker Stephen Russell of Clonakenny got his sides’ scoring off with a point from a free, five minutes in. Another free for Ballinahinch and an in-form Paddy Kelly stepped up to convert.

Clonakenny were trying to cut through the Ballinahinch defence but were failing due to in accuracy being put under pressure from the North division’s hard working backs. Good defensive skills from James Healy set up another attack with Kevin Fitzpatrick and David Ryan combing to lay off the ball to an awaiting Brendan Ryan who duly pointed for Ballinahinch.

Clonakenny centre back Liam Mullally started to come into his own and creating more chances for his attack. John Joe Ryan at midfield made some powerful runs at the Ballinahinch defence but was unfortunate to have his shots blocked as space was tight due to Ballinahinch forwards dropping back to help out the defence.

Then from breaking ball after a Rody Quigley shot Ballinahinch regained possession through Brendan Ryan who sent the ball to Paddy Kelly and he laid it off to David Ryan for Ballinahinch’s second goal of the game. Finishing off the first half Clonakenny put on a scoring spurt Stephen Russell pointing another free his third of the half and Rody Quigley goaling after good outfield play from Padraig Mullally and Bobby Bergin creating the chance.

Trailing by seven points at half time, Clonakenny had it all to do for the second period. They took full advantage in the first minute after Ballinahinch indiscipline which allowed Stephen Russell point a free narrowing the gap.

This was short lived however as midfielder John Ryan delivered a long ball into Brendan Ryan who made no mistake in taking his second goal of the evening and Ballinahinch’s third. Retaining possession from the kick out Paddy Kelly put Ballinahinch ten points ahead.

Midway through the second half Stephen Russell, Michael John Carroll and Bobby Bergin swapped scores with Ballinahinch’s Paddy Kelly, John Ryan and David Ryan. Clonakenny could not reduce the deficit a sufficient amount as Ballinahinch kept kicking over the points to maintain their lead.

Clonakenny were handed a lifeline when Paddy Murray was the fastest to react to a save from RJ Ryan making no mistake in kicking the ball to the net on the rebound. Ballinahinch did not panic and Paddy Kelly was on hand again to restore an eight-point lead with a fine point from a 45’.

In the final few minutes Michael John Carroll got a consolation score for Clonakenny but it was too little too late as Ballinahinch ran out eight point winners at the final whistle.

Ballinahinch dominated for long periods as Clonakenny could not reduce the scoring margin to cause a threat, Ballinahinch’s big lead built up from the beginning ensured that they ran out comfortable winners.

Man of Match: Paddy Kelly

Team: RJ Ryan; James Healy, Colm Lees; Cathal Ryan, James O'Connor, Patrick Lynch; John Ryan (0-01), Kevin Fitzpatrick (0-01); Paddy Kelly (0-07, 4frees 1 '45), David Ryan (1-01), Kevin Mulcahy; Frank Troy, Brendan Ryan (2-03). Subs: Daragh McGrath for K. Mulcahy.


  The victorious Ballinahinch captain James Healy receiving the Trophy from County Football Board chairman Noel Morris after the County Minor ‘C’ Football Final. On left of picture Tom Maher assistant secretary County Board.