Club News‎ > ‎

PRO notes 22nd June 2015

posted 22 Jun 2015, 12:07 by Sluder Bullins
Schools: Well done to our National schools team who made history by completing the double last Wednesday in the field of dreams at Semple Stadium when they added the hurling county title to the football title they won previously in the year. In a titanic struggle with Barnane from Mid Tipp, they held out to be deserving winners in a tight open match by 9-10 to 7-12. In 7-a-side competition, it was going to be a tough running game and all players were brilliant to ensure the title made its way back to our parish. Karl Kelly was captain on the day. Well done to all players, Mr Harnett, Pa Ryan, Fr. Fletcher and all who helped in developing these players down through the years. The future is bright for the club when these players will come through to line out at adult grade. Team: Phelim O Reilly, Karl Kelly, Jake Edwards, Adam Ryan, Liam King, Joey Kelly, Nathan Lenihan. Sub used Jack Mullaney. Subs: Malachy Mullaney, Edward Talbot, Cormac Kennedy, Pádraig Seymour, Bláthnaid Ryan, Alex Lenihan, David Healy, Darren Gleeson, Jack Ryan, Maia Woods, Laura Quinn, Leona Burke, Malachy Kennedy, Liam Seymour, Kimie Wilson, Katie O’Brien, Niamh Ryan.
U21: Loughmore/Castleiney defeated the U21 footballers last Wednesday night in the County ‘A’ semi-final. Loughmore started best but coming up to have time Newport Gaels hit a purple patch and went in at the break one point behind. Loughmore took control early in the second half and despite great effort the team could not get the victory. Hard luck to all involved with the team.
Intermediate: The next round of the North championship is scheduled for this weekend against Shannon Rovers. The winners will play Newport in the final. Check fixtures for details.
Munster Hurling: Best of luck to David Gleeson and the Tipperary minor hurlers this Wednesday (24th June) against Clare in the semi-final. Well done to Shane McGrath and the Tipperary senior hurlers on their big win against Limerick.
Tipp Draw: A reminder for all draw members to have a minimum of €50 paid by end of June to continue in draw.
Grounds: The GAA grounds in Shallee had some maintenance work carried out last week. The pitch was vertidrained and sanded to improve to surface and drainage.
Blast from the past: The last and only County hurling title Ballinahinch N.S. won prior to last week was back 19 years ago in 1996. Under the guidance of John Ryan's shrewd watch, they delivered the ultimate prize having lost the previous two county finals in earlier years. They beat Upperchurch 3-2 to 1-1 at the final whistle having led 2-1 to 0-0 at half time. Team John Foley, Shane Fitzgerald, Michael Fitzgerald (capt), Michael Lynch, Alan Kelly, Micheal Gleeson, Paudie Berkery, Ger Griffin, Adrain Gleeson, Shane McGrath, Pat Jones, Edward Chadwick, Michael Ryan. Subs used: Stephen Ryan, Aidan Gleeson. Also Noelle Ryan, Mairead Berkery, Claire Ryan, Sean Sheehy, Michael Bourke, Francis Bourke, Philip Loughman, John O Grady, Michael O Brien, Stephen Lyons.