Club News‎ > ‎

North Tipp GAA news 5th Dec 2013

posted 5 Dec 2013, 11:29 by Unknown user

North Tipp GAA News for ….. weekend 5th of December

By Liam Hogan PRO

North Bord Convention 2013

Killoscully provided the venue for this year’s North Tipperary Senior Bord Convention.

The idea to move the Convention from the usual surroundings of Nenagh Eire Og GAA Complex came from North Board Chairman, John McGrath and it is hoped that other clubs will take on the idea over the next few years. The intimate setting proved to be a fantastic success.

The local church was first call with Mass celebrated in memory of the deceased members of North Tipperary GAA with Fr Bobby Fletcher P.P. Ballinahinch and Killoscully and Fr Seamus Gardiner PP Portroe were the chief celebrants. The readings for the mass were read by Tipperary hurlers Shane McGrath, Ballinahinch and Conor O’Mahony, Newport. The prayers for the faithful were ably read by locals, T J McLoughlin (Ballinahinch GAA), Dermot Bourke (Ballinahinch GAA and former North Board Officer), Nathan Lenihan (Ballinahinch handball), Caroline Mullaney (Ballinahinch Camogie), Suzannah Mullaney (Ballinahinch Juvenile GAA) and Marian Minehan Secretary Of North Tipperary Bord na N’Og.

The gifts of were brought to the alter by Eugene Ryan (Secretary North Tipp Board) and Tim Floyd (Secretary County Tipperary Board)
Fantastic singing was provided by Killoscully and Ballinahinch choirs with friends and Newport Scor Winners.

After mass the main business of the night commenced with Chairman John McGrath welcomed everybody to the meeting. He read out an apology from Matt Hassett, President of North Tipperary Board who was unable to attend. The chairman provided a special welcome for the Vice president, of the Board, Donie Nealon. He also welcomed Sean Nugent, Chairman of the County Senior Board; Tim Floyd, Secretary County Tipperary Board; Michael Bourke Vice Chairman, County Tipperary Board and Ger Ryan PRO County Tipperary Board. He also welcomed Joe Hannigan, Chairman of Tipperary Football Board

The clar for the evening was adhered to. The secretary Eugene Ryan went through the minutes of the 2012 convention. There was no correspondence. In the treasurer’s report, Willie Lennox outlined a good year for the Board as the season made a profit.

Vice president, Donie Nealon paid tribute to the officers of the North Board for the vast amount of work they undertake. He said that modern day players are fitter and better prepared for modern day hurling.

Eugene Ryan went through his 2013 detailed report. He said that 2013 provided many special memories of some brilliant games. Chairman, John McGrath addressed the gathering. He asked that clubs work on showing more respect for players and referees. He said that there would be more North Board meetings in 2014.
After the chairman’s address the election of officers took place. Each outgoing member of the board were returned except Martin Ryan, Ballinahinch, Cultural Officer and Catherine Gleeson Assistant Treasurer, both of whom stepped down.

The elected officers were as follows:

Uachtarán (President): Matt Hassett (Toomevara).

Leas Uachtarán (Vice President): Donie Nealon (Burgess).

Cathaoirleach (Chairman): John McGrath (Ballinahinch)

Leas Cathaoirleach (Vice Chairman): Dan Kennedy (Roscrea)

Rúnaí (Secretary): Eugene Ryan (Moneygall)

Rúnaí Cúnta (Assistant Secretary) Gerard McKeogh (Ballina)

Cisteoir (Treasurer): Willie Lennox (Shannon Rovers)

Cisteoir Cúnta (Assistant Treasurer): Catherine Gleeson (Kildangan) withdrawn

Oifigeach Caidreamh Poiblí (P.R.O.): Liam Hogan (Shannon Roves)

Iontaobhaí (Trustee): Dan Kennedy (Roscrea)

Cláraitheoir (Registrar): Joe Hanrahan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

Oifigeach na Leanaí (Childrenʼs Officer): Cora Moroney (Newport)

Oifigeach Gaeilge agus Cultúir (Officer for Irish Language and Culture): Martin Ryan (Ballinahinch) Withdrawn

Oifigeach Traenáil (Coaching Officer) John Sheedy (Portroe)

Oifigeach Forbairt (Development Officer): Jackie Meagher (Toomevara)

North U-21 B Hurling Final

Borrisokane v Ballinahinch Gaels will provide the novel pairing as far as North Under-21 B Hurling finals go. Both teams survived their semi final journeys with Borrisokane defeating Portroe by 4-19 to 1-14 at Puckane and Ballinahinch Gaels defeating Moneygall/Clonakenny at Dolla, on a scorline of 4-14 to 2-14. The final will be played on weekending 12th December.